And so it begins…

Last night was Clay’s last swim lesson, and I have good news to report: he can swim! Across the pool, face in the water and everything! I was worried he’d never do it, and here we are getting ready for Labor Day weekend and I no longer have to worry about him drowning. Hooray!

While I’m happy that the lessons worked, my new panic has to do with managing the kids’ extracurricular activities. Until now, with the exception of swimming, I’ve been able to avoid organized classes for kids. I know they learn a lot and some parents even enjoy the classes and that’s great, but it’s just not for me. Mommy and Me or ballet for toddlers seem like a waste of time and money. My kids and I can play together without paying someone to sing us silly songs, and Avery can dance around the house to “girl songs” on the iPad. The best part = we can do it on our own time and it costs nothing.

We’ve reached a new milestone though. Clay is in preschool and decided he wanted to play soccer. He had the first practice this week, and Chase took him. It started at 5:00 p.m., so that in itself was a bit of a challenge (apparently volunteer coaches don’t have day jobs). We’re still getting used to the new preschool routine, so after picking him up and getting him changed into soccer gear, they were late. We hate being late. Chase was stressed and I can understand why.

The thing that scares me is the coordination it requires to get two kids from school to just one activity. Everyone thinks babies and toddlers are hard, but organizing activities for bigger kids is a whole new ball game (no pun intended). What happens when both kids have multiple practices per week and we have to fit that in with our jobs, homework and trying to have some time for our family to relax? And that’s assuming they only play one sport per season (which will be our limit). How do parents with more kids pull it off?

Leave a Reply

