Making time for exercise

I hope everyone had a great Labor Day! Like all summer holiday weekends, we had fun at Big Bear Lake with family and friends. It was nice to get away for a few days, though with 10 adults and 12 children in one house, I’m not sure I would call it relaxing. I need a vacation from my vacation…or maybe just a good workout?

Before kids, I exercised three or four times a week because I knew it was good for me. I’m fortunate that I have a fast metabolism and I didn’t “have” to do it to lose or maintain weight. Finding time or motivation to work out when the kids were babies was hard. I didn’t feel guilty leaving them for work, but I felt bad putting them in the gym day care, when I’d been away from them all day. I ran a few times a week because that was less of a time commitment, and I could wait until Chase got home from work so they were home with one of us.

This year I decided that I needed to make some time for myself and I wanted this “me time” to be something that was good for me both physically and mentally. I bought a two-week Amazon Local deal to try The Dailey Method. The first class was hard, but in a good way. I loved how it forced me to stretch and be mindful of my body, which I didn’t take the time to do when running. It is a great group of women and a local business with a young female owner, who I feel good about giving my money to. For 60 minutes a few times a week I don’t think about work or kids or house projects. I appreciate my body and take care of both my muscles and my mind. I’ve seen a huge change in both.

I know how hard it is to fit in exercise and to overcome the guilt associated with leaving your kids to do something for yourself. But it’s not just for you. A healthy parent will be around longer. A happy parent will be more patient and loving with their kids. Chase also got a personal trainer this year. He wakes up early to go to the gym and does a boot camp class twice a week. We are spending money to stay fit, but it’s worth every penny. We are less stressed and our bodies are healthier. Definitely time and money well spent…

One thought on “Making time for exercise

  1. Pingback: Daily deals | Time is Money Mommy

Leave a Reply

