I love girls’ night

I’m tired today, not just because Avery woke me up at 4:55 a.m. (what is wrong with that child?). Last night was my monthly girls’ night, and although I could use a nap, I’m so happy I got to spend time with some of my favorite ladies.

In high school, I realized the importance of girlfriends. Boys came and went, but my best friends were always there for me. I was in a sorority in college, and was very lucky when I moved to San Diego that I met an incredible group of girls. They had been friends for years (some dating back to grade school), and I couldn’t believe my luck that they were so welcoming to this East Coast outsider. At the time, we were in our twenties, and always up for a good time. We all lived near the beach and would meet up to celebrate every birthday, engagement and new job.

But something strange happens when girls get married and have kids. They move to the suburbs. They have other weekend commitments like birthday parties and soccer games and family in town. They get pregnant and are less inclined to spend an evening in a bar with tipsy twenty-somethings. All of this is understandable, but it makes it more difficult to schedule girl time.

As much as I love my husband and kids, I NEED girl time. I used to live in a house with 43 other girls. I always had someone to chat or do things with, and I loved it! I still do, though our conversations have changed over the years, from “what was that guy’s name again?” to “how many times a day does your baby poop?” We learn so much from each other and it’s nice to be with people who you can relate to. Chase doesn’t care what jeans I buy or how to make kettle corn.

Earlier this year, our group had a baby shower nearly every month, so I saw everyone often. Then all the babies were born and other than visiting the new bundles of joy, I didn’t see some of the girls for months. Facebook is great because I feel like I know what is going on with everyone, but it’s just not the same.

This summer, we decided to do a monthly girls’ night, and I offered to organize it. On a set day every month, we go to dinner/drinks and catch up. Some months people can’t make it, and that’s okay. Life is crazy sometimes. When we do see each other, it’s like no time has passed. It’s a break from breast pumps and sippy cups. So what if we talk about our kids most of the time and hold up the valet line to give each other maternity clothes out of our trunks? These are the girls I love the most. Just wish my high school and college friends could be here too. We’d have the best time.

P.S. Thanks, Chase, for taking care of the kids so I can have these nights out. You’re the best!

Leave a Reply

