Make new friends, but keep the old

FSU girls – garnet and gold!

I drove into work yesterday with a song in my head that I remembered from my brief stint as a Girl Scout: “Make new friends, but keep the old, one is silver and the other’s gold.” I never made it past the Brownies, but that song obviously stuck with me, if I still remember it nearly 30 years later.

We spent last weekend in Tallahassee, home to Florida State University and the place where I met many of my closest friends. Most of my college friends are on the East Coast and due to life circumstances, I don’t see them often. But when I do, things are the same. It’s like we are 20 again, laughing and sharing and being together in a way that is just effortless. There is something about college. The life experiences you share with your friends there change you forever, and a bond is created that time and distance can’t break.

We’ve been through a lot since college. Grad school, marriages, divorces, babies, sick parents and career changes. We’re grown ups now. We are moms and college professors and teachers and business owners. Not just the girls getting ready together in the sorority house. Different girls, women even, but deep down we’re the same.

We’ve all made new friends along the way and we cherish those relationships, too. But my college friends made me the person I am today, and I couldn’t be more thankful for the group of amazing women who changed my life in a way I’d never imagined. We may go years without seeing each other, but when we’re together it seems like no time has passed. Those friends are pure gold to me.

Leave a Reply

