Little things I’m thankful for, day 7: my family

The past six days of “little things I’m thankful for” posts have been about things that somehow make my life easier. Since tomorrow is Thanksgiving, I thought I’d write about the people I am most thankful for (and the reason I started this blog in the first place): my family.

I am thankful that I married Chase. He is so patient (unlike me) and such a hands-on, devoted dad. I can handle being a working mom because I have him as a partner. We’re a team and I am so glad that I flew across the country for his brother’s engagement party and met him. I thought he was cute, but he lived in California and I thought California was weird. I still think that, but moving here was the best decision I ever made. I married the love of my life and had two beautiful babies with him.

I am thankful that Clay was my first-born. He is such a sweet, smart, handsome boy. He asks so many questions and never stops talking, but he cares so much and so deeply about everyone. Clay is cautious and introspective. He is honest and loving. Clay will make a wonderful husband someday, but for now I’m thankful that he “wants to live with us forever and make us dinner while we relax and watch TV.”

I am thankful for the joy and light that is my Avery Grace. For the first two years of her life, she only cried if she was tired or hungry and not much has changed. Avery is the type of person that everyone wants to be around – she lights up a room and makes us laugh constantly. She is independent and bossy. She will make boys crazy, but they won’t be able to resist her charm and the way that smile makes them feel like a million dollars.

This Thanksgiving, more than ever before, I feel like I have everything . I am so thankful for our many blessings, but even if we had no material possessions, we would have each other. The patient one, the sweet one, the one who makes me laugh and me. Today, it’s not such a little thing that I am thankful for. Family is everything.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Leave a Reply

