New Year’s resolutions

2013I’ve never been one to go crazy with New Year’s resolutions. Rather than committing to huge, sweeping changes, I come up with a few career and personal goals for the year. I read today that resolutions that are made public are more likely to fail. I would think the opposite, hoping that the accountability would help keep me on track. At least if I post mine here, at the end of 2013 I can look back and judge for myself.

So here goes…my personal goals for 2013:

1. Use “really?” as a response less often.

I’ve realized that I use the word “really?” as a response far too often. From responding to Chase telling me he invited his family over for a last-minute dinner to answering Clay when he tells me he loves a silly television show, responding with “really?” evokes a feeling of condescension or disbelief. Technically you could respond with “Really? That is such amazing news!,” but in my case it is more often a negative response.  It may seem like a small thing, but I know it can seem rude and I want to stop doing it. Anything my family or friends tells me is worthy of a positive response. Unless of course someone tells me they love the Florida Gators. Then they will still get a “really?” out of me.

2. Give up some control.

This will probably be on my list every year between now and 2028 (the year Avery will leave for college). I am a bit of a control freak, especially with my house and my kids. I can’t change who I am, but I can let some things go. The world will not end if Avery puts Barbie clothes in the wrong toy bin or if Clay wears flip-flops in winter. I need to pick my battles. At least they are putting the toys away and wearing shoes.

3. Be more flexible.

I live in a world of deadlines and daycare drop-off times and 60-minute workout classes. I hate to be late and my life works best when structured. I like routine and so do my kids, and most of the time we need it. When we were on vacation over the holidays, the kids stayed in their pajamas until later in the morning. I went and worked out and took my time getting Starbucks without rushing home. I had the benefit of my mom here to help with the kids and no work commitments. I have to say it was a nice break. It’s not our reality, and my personality (see #2 above) makes it hard for me to relax and go with the flow, but it wouldn’t hurt me to be a bit more flexible with our free time.

I’m not overhauling my lifestyle for the new year, but I am working on small changes to make myself a better wife, mom, friend and employee. What about you? What are your resolutions?

Leave a Reply

